I’ve done another sample on this project. Since I last posted, Jay’s timeline has become significantly shorter. I have some commitments that keep me from plunging into working on this full time, but I do want to get the scarves to Jay in time for him to have some time enjoy them. LoneStarCon 3 will be doing a display about the entire genomic sequencing project and its implications for the future of medicine, and they asked to display one of the scarves, so that deadline (end of August) had originally been my goal. Now, though, any day earlier would a Good Thing.

With that backdrop, here is the next sample.

Jay's genome 3rd sample 1

I’ve decided that simple plain weave shows the color sequences best, and that weft stripes is the way to go. By using the color coding of G – black, C – blue, T – red, and A – green for adenine (A), thymine (T), cytosine (C), and guanine (G), this sample spells out GATTACA — which is a really good movie exploring some ideas about the future of gene testing gone awry. This section is sett at 24 epi, which is weaver’s shorthand for 24 threads (ends) per inch, and woven with black weft. Pretty nice.

Jay's genome 3rd sample 2

Same sett, but with white weft. I think this makes the stripes too pale looking.

Jay's genome 3rd sample 3

I decided to try resleying the reed to get 20epi, so here is that, with white then black weft.

Jay's genome 3rd sample 6

And here is 20 epi woven with blue weft. Too blue.

Jay's genome 3rd sample 4

Here are the 24 epi (left) and 20 epi (right) side by side. The 20 epi is too loose. I’m having trouble maintaining a good selvedge on the right side, and it not as sturdy a cloth as the 24 epi.

Jay's genome 3rd sample 5

I do love this plied fringe!

My conclusion from this sample? 24 epi, but keep the beat gentle so it’s a bit more warp faced. Black weft shows the stripes best. And work faster.

