Sample on the loom

Just to to prove that I do more than knit, spin, and bake, here’s a sample weaving that I just completed last week.  It’s not pretty, but it’s woven.  The warp is a lovely, heathered 2/8 Merino/Cashmere that I got from Webs, and the color is Olive
Tweed. I have about five pounds of it, and another 5 pounds of the same stuff in Charcoal, which is a cool grey with white flecks. The wefts are an orange tussah silk that I got from the “make a donation” yarn box at Whidbey Guild, and two shades of green 20/2 silk that I got wind-offs of at Weaving Works in Seattle. I was hoping the green would tone down that rather violent orange, but that didn’t happen. I may have to overdye it, because it really is a rather dreadful color. Above, it’s still on the loom, and below, it’s washed.

Sample, washed

Is there anything right about this?  Sleyed too tight, the poor merino fibers have no room the fluff up and be free until the end of the sample.  The orange, which I was hoping would recede a bit, is really OUT THERE, and wants to be seen, even though I don’t want to look at it. The weave structure manages to come through, despite all it’s being forced to suffer, and I want to try it again, just with completely different fibers.  Well, the 20/2 silk is okay.  The structure is from Sharon Alderman‘s book, A Handweaver’s Notebook, Swatch Collection #18, fabric #3.

Any why do I have so much of the Merino/Cashmere and no real plan of what to do with it? Remember when the Lord of Rings Cloaks were the hot thing that everyone was weaving? My daughter was a major Lord of Rings fan, and really wanted one to wear to the local premier of the final movie.  Happy that there was something I could weave that she would actually wear,  we cybershopped and picked out these yarns, which I hoped together  would capture the elusive not-quite-green, not-quite-grey effect of the cloaks in the movie. Of course, they color-corrected the cloaks to make the color suit the scene, so really, you can’t weave something that will look exactly like what they had, all the time.

Wove up a sample, and the dear girl Did Not Like It. Realizing that buying more and more colors of yarn would be a futile effort, I went ahead and bought some nice commercial grey wool twill fabric, and made the cloak, (and pin) which turned out rather nicely, if I do say so myself. The cones of Merino/Cashmere were sent off to the corner to age. That was 2003.  It is now 2007, and that yarn is haunting me. I must do something with it!  Since the green is so warm and yellow toned, and the grey is so cool and, well, grey toned, I think they should not be together. I may just break down and weave two  simple plain weave lengths, each its own color, yards and yards of it. Or I could do something else. 

 Any suggestions? Please?

