As I mentioned a while ago, I’ve been working on the Tsock Tsarina’s design, Blue Stocking, and have finally finished the pair!  They are lovely, and only need a tailored linen skirt, an elegant shirt-waist, and some jazzy mules to complete the outfit.  Or, a great pair of jeans. 

This is not a pattern for the novice sock knitter, but the adventurous soul who can read directions, keep a steady gauge, and breathe deeply, will be rewarded with The Best Fitting and Coolest Socks Ever.

The yarn is the truly delicious Electric Slide, custom dyed by Jennifer at her farm in upstate New York, vanCalcar Acres. It’s a yummy superwash merino/nylon blend that is soft and warm.

You gotta feel it (It’s electric!)

The Yarn Fairy included a skeinlette of a lighter blue with the shipment, so I did a trial run on the pattern first, knitting the toe, about an inch of foot, then the heel.  Feeling encouraged, I started with the real stuff.  At this point, the pattern was in a beta phase, meaning that the directions for the first sock were done, but not the second.  I happily knitted away, and was approaching the heel when the second sock directions were available.  Now, this sock is knitted in Half-Veil stitch, and the Tsarina has a great tutorial on doing the stitch, complete with pictures, helpful arrows, and much textual hand-holding.  As I scanned the directions for the second sock I realized I had been doing the first sock incorrectly, twisting counter-clockwise when I should have been clockwise, and doing the shaping increases and decreases on the wrong sides of the foot.  Because the Half-Veil stitch travels laterally to create the fishnet look, the socks are designed to be mirror images of each other.  If they were identical, they’d both twist, say, clockwise, and it wouldn’t look as good.

So.  My sock was wrong.  Should I undo it all to the toe and start fresh, or make the corresponding errors in the second sock to balance them out?  I decided to start the second sock with error adjustments and see how it looked, as well as compare it to the first sock.  Much brain twisting later, I had two half socks I could try on and evaluate. “Fine enough,” I decided, and moved ahead.

Creeping up the leg

Note that I’m knitting from both ends of the ball at once.  The trick to this is, when knitting from the outer end, turn the ball so that the center-pull end is underneath, and the outer yarn won’t keep crossing it after every revolution, making a gawd-awful tangle. My thinking is that I’d rather end up with one small ball of leftover yarn than two tiny balls.

These socks look very odd when they are not on a foot and leg, but behold when they are done and properly filled out!

Ta dah!

And note the adorable picot edge:

Adorable picot edge

I’m not entirely happy with the ribbon — the blue satin at the local store was rather too greenish, so the white is a fill-in until I get something better.  Maybe a trip to Nancy’s Sewing Basket is in order.

Anyway, do give this sock a try.  Just be sure to follow the directions very carefully.

