You knew most alliums are edible, comprising the garlic and onion family.  I suppose the decorative alliums are edible as well, but are really just grown for their flowers.  At the grocery the other day, I saw these:

Stalky

Elephant garlic shoots.  The tag decribed them as tasting sort of like asparagus, and that they should be treated roughly the same — sauteed or steamed.  Always game for an odd vegetable, I brought them home.

Ready for our close-up, Mr. DeMille!

Tossed in a hot pan with olive oil until hot and lightly browned, but still a bit too crunchy.  I threw in a little water and covered it for a minute or two, then served it forth.

Alli-yum!

Alli-yum, indeed! A bit woody at upper end of the stalk, where it meets the flower head, but otherwise crunchy garlicky goodness.

Also on the menu, live spot prowns (well, not by the time I was done with them), lightly boiled. So sweet and tender!

Spot the prawns

And the grocery was having a special on clams.

Clammy, how I love ya, how I love ya

I plucked some mint from the garden and made Clams with Mint, Chilis, and Bacon from The Herbal Kitchen.  Sounds odd, but it’s really good.

Artful steam shot

