Without leaps of imagination, or dreaming, we lose the excitement of possibilities. Dreaming, after all, is a form of planning.

Gloria Steinem

 

I knew I knew how to dye roving, yarn, cloth, etc.  And when I’d admire some fabulous colors at the yarn store, I’d sometimes say, “Y’know, I could do that.”  But now I’ve been seized by the idea of making a small business of dyeing sock yarns.  I’ve been researching undyed yarn, and have ordered three, count ’em, three white skeins of Knit Picks Bare, just to give it a whirl.  One tiny toe, barely touching the water. 

Oh, and I’ve also thought about colorways, names, logos, price points, and marketing plans.  That toe is getting wetter.  Do you ever do that — imagine a vast, detailed,  and well-thought-out plan for a project?  Sometimes when I do that, I just lie down for a few weeks until the feeling passes. That could still happen. But maybe I’ll go mix up some dye first.   Yeah, that’ll be good.

It’s remarkable that so many of the names I can think of for a tiny yarn business have already been taken.  But there’s still a few left.  What do you think of Damselfly Yarns?  Or Kingfisher Yarns? Let me  know, because Your Vote May Count.

