Marie, the owner/guru of Main Street Yarns sent me an email a couple of weeks ago asking if I’d like to try out some spinning fiber she was planning to carry.  Always a sucker for free fiber, I went down the next day and scored this:

A roving,a roving, a roving is my roo-i-in

A half pound package of  package of Louet Northern Lights wool roving in Autumn Twilight. The bag looked smallish, but when I pulled the roving out and let it breathe, it expanded enormously! Marie said there wasn’t any hurry in getting her a sample, as the spinning wheels aren’t arriving at the store until August, but I couldn’t wait.

Single?  Looking for fun?

Here’s the singles  . . .

Purple yarn cake

and here’s the final yarn.  I knitted up a nice sample, and was in such a rush to show it off give it Marie, that I didn’t get a picture.  But I’ve got more yarn, and more roving.  This stuff spins up beautifully, and is excellently prepared.  Do give it a try!

While I was at the store delivering the yarn, I fell in love with  this:

Seaweed?

which opens up to reveal this:

Be free, my sea wool!

It doesn’t get much prettier than that.  And the socks are done, but I have to go make dinner now. Pictures tomorrow!

