Snow day

People!  This is not normal April weather for the Puget Sound area.  Granted, we live in the convergence zone, but this is ridiculous.

Chilly cherry

April 18th.

Chilly rhodie

Fer real.  The previous latest snow that’s happened since we’ve been here was April 4, and this is much heavier.  In fact, today, we’ve had a little bit of everything — rain, hail, small snow, big fat fluffy snow, and even a tiny bit of sunshine.  Weird.

In other news, last night I made a really nice dish of fresh pasta, served with a fat roast chicken, salad, and a very tasty Italian Rose.

Warm pasta

Pardon the messy bowl, I took the picture after dinner. I made the pasta myself, and it was extraordinarily toothsome.  The recipe was from Alice Water’s remarkable cookbook The Art of Simple Food, a book I cannot recommend too highly. I gave it to ‘most everyone for Christmas last year and cook from it often. It is a distillation of her years of being a restauranteur in the French and also West Coast modes, and her passion for local, fresh food, all put together in a well written and usable text.

The pasta called for extra egg yolks, and perhaps that is the secret. Two cups of flour, 2 whole eggs and 2 additional egg yolks. Mix into a rough dough, adding a tiny bit of water if necessary, which I had to do. Wrap in plastic and let sit for an hour. This is one of those statements in life that when you hear, you must believe it. So I say again, if the instructions for any flour-containing recipe say, “Let sit for an hour, “believe it.

I’ve noticed a few other statements that work that way, too, by the way.  When a child says he has to throw up?  Believe it.  When a person you feel romantically towards says, “I’m no good for you,” believe it. The third one, when a waiter in an ethnic restaurant says “You no like”, I merely take with a grain of salt.  It’s usually just fine, but then I’m adventurous culinarily.

But back to the pasta.  After its hour-long nap, I rolled it thin and cut it into fettucine, then tossed with it flour, covered it with a cloth and put it in the fridge for a couple of hours until dinner.  Other recipes have called for drying the pasta on sticks, artfully arranged around the kitchen, but this was simpler and worked fine.  Boiled in ample salted water, tossed with some olive oil and Cibo’s Sun-dried Tomato Pesto, and it was a delectable treat. Try it!

