WordPress got cranky yesterday and, I think,  had to take a nap, so I couldn’t post the promised follow-up in a timely manner.  If you want to cut to the chase, the answer is tortillas.

Toast me!

The recipe called for Garam Masala, an Indian spice mix that is sold at most nicer stores, but I like to make my own, from a recipe in Moghul Microwave, a fine cookbook by Julie Sahni that should be reprinted, but is available used.  Most of the spices are toasted, then ground — then fresh grated nutmeg is added for a final note. It’s a pungent blend of cumin seed, coriander seed, cardamom pod, black peppercorns, cinnamon, cloves, and bay leaf.

More spices, I say

The lentil recipe also called for ground ginger, cayenne, and more cumin, and here they are along with the ground garam masala.  When I make this again, I think I’ll cut back on the cayenne, since there was a lot of black pepper in the garam masala, and it came out a bit spicy hot for a cosy bowl. But then I did find a green chili pepper hiding in the veggie bin that went in also.

Spicy black lentil bowl

It was really good! The lentils hold their shape, like green lentils do, so it’s not a thick soup.  I think adding some pink lentils, which break down very quickly, would make it into one of those stand-your-spoon up-in-it soups.

In fiber-related news, I’ve started a Damselfly Yarn  group on Ravelry, and I’d love to see you there! Wait time for joining Ravelry has dropped to just a couple of weeks, and it’s a great resource and network for knitters, crocheters and spinners.

