While we were gone, the junco eggs hatched, and we now have three baby birds in the nest.

Three in a nest

Three in a nest

They are absolutely silent, but when they sensed me nearby, they popped up their heads and opened their mouths for food.  I snapped a couple of pictures and left them awaiting the mother bird’s return, and hope she’ll have some nice fat insects for them.  The plants in the basket are getting rather limp, as I haven’t been watering them at all, but there was a little rain yesterday.  They are just weedy volunteers and I’m not concerned about them,  but they do give a little concealing coverage to the nest.

I’m moving along on the socks I’ve been knitting.  I call them Seal Rock Socks Around the Clock, because the colorway is Seal Rock, and the yarn is Blue Moon Socks That Rock.  The pattern is a modified version of Ann Budd’s Mock Wave Cable Socks, from the book Favorite Socks.  Here’s the second sock enjoying the

Sock on vacation

Sock on vacation

 view of Los Penasquitos Marsh as we visited friends. It looks so relaxed, doesn’t it?

