This yarn business is getting a bit bigger each year, and while the thrifty and handy All-Powerful Reeling Machine was getting the job of winding skeins of yarn from cones done, it was getting a bit old, waving my right arm in a circle and muttering 1,2,3,4,5,6, . . .  and so on, up to 240, for each skein. So when I saw in an ad on Ravelry that I could buy an electric skeiner for a very reasonable price and get an upgrade that allowed me to skein three at once for only a little bit more, well, I placed my order so fast that heads were spinning!  Crazy Monkey Creations is the manufacturer, and they are wonderful folks who make a very high quality product.  At the time I ordered, they didn’t offer counters, so I bought one from Noelle’s Noodles on Etsy.  Who could resist something called a Countinator?  And they are another class act as well, fast service, great product.

I love it when I, a home-based business, can support other home-based businesses, and make my business more efficient at the same time.

Around and around it goes

Around and around it goes

Here it is, with skeins nicely wound and ready to tie off and remove.

It's digital!

It's digital!.

Here’s a view that shows the Countinator. It’s very clever, and senses a magnet that’s attached to one of the arms as it goes past. While I was waiting for the countinator to arrive I tried winding some skeins and counting them myself . That’s very hard to do! Even with putting a red sticker on one of the arms, it’s just too easy to loose track. Greg and I are guests at Boskone next weekend, and when I was chatting with some of the ladies on the convention committee at the Ravelry meet-up at Denvention last year, they liked the idea of me dyeing some yarn for a Knit-A-Long (KAL) at the convention. So here is the Boskone yarn, available in two base yarns. The blue, green, and white color scheme is inspired by the official colors of the SF club that puts on Boskone, NESFA.  A custom colorway for a con: a first, I think.

Boskone yarn

Boskone yarn

The lower balls are on my Silky Sheep base, and are for the maybe-you-can-finish it-at-the-con KAL, which will be Calorimetry, a nice headscarf pattern that works up pretty quickly.  The yarn will be worked double to get gauge, so there will be interesting effects as the colors match up or don’t during the knitting. The upper balls are on my Sturdy Sheep base, which was requested by the sock fiends in Boston (you know who you are!) who like a lighter gauge yarn.  Not that you can’t knit socks with the Silky Sheep, but they come out a bit bulkier. 

