I’ve been working on a small shawl, to demonstrate that my Sterling Sheep yarn doesn’t  have to be used for socks, and also that you can get a nice sized  shawl from one skein.

Finished!

Finished!

Here it is, done at last. It’s the Flower Basket Shawl by Evelyn Clark, which I’ve done before.  A lovely design, well written pattern, adaptable to many yarn weights. I did an extra row of the border lace to make it as big as possible . . .

Last scrap

Last scrap

and ended up with this much yarn left over.  About five and half feet. I’d say that’s an efficient use of one skein!

Splish splash, I was taking a bath

Splish splash, I was taking a bath

Of course, a piece of knitted lace isn’t really done until it’s washed

Pinned!

Pinned!

and blocked

shawl 009 small

And an arty picture taken of it.

On the weaving front, it is only weaving in the most generous sense of the word — there is warp, three strands,  and weft, six strands.

No blocking required

No blocking required

I hacked back some bamboo and trimmed the leaves off the canes.  Then I pulled out the old bamboo X that the hops vines were climbing up and used the trimmed bamboo to make this woven trellis. I also yanked out the dead Cape honeysuckle that the hops were tangled up in, but that’s growing back from the roots, even though the very woody old growth got killed off this past winter.

